My America

“This land is your land, this land is my land” say the lyrics to Woody Guthrie’s popular patriotic song. I would love to believe that, but in my America, politicians serve the good of the people, not their own interests. In my America, people are interested in solving problems than placing blame, and opposing opinions are welcome for civilized debate. Schools do not rank among the lowest educational standards in the industrialized world, because education is a priority.

In my America, copyright laws protect the property in question, not just businesses and lawyers. In my America, the media reports actual news, instead of ruining lives for a story. I’m talking about Anthony Weiner, Sarah Palin’s children present on her “One Nation Bus Tour”, Will and Kate and countless others.

Tolerance and acceptance are practiced above all else in my America; there is plenty of room for God, Allah, Buddha, Vishnu, and the Goddess, before we are black or white, gay or straight, Irish or Mexican, male or female, democrat or republican, we are Americans. We would be kind to each other because being American trumps all. We all live in this land together, flying that flag with 50 stars and 13 stripes, bound together by history and the greatest document ever written, the US Constitution.

So, what does your America look like? Happy birthday, and have a safe holiday weekend, and never forget who we are and what we stand for!

About Arthur Dishman

I am an amateur philosopher and fiction writer who is very concerned about some of the things happening in the world around me. I have been posting a lot of political rants to my facebook, so I've decided to sequester my ramblings to its own spot. Also, I'm not exactly lacking for hobbies or things to do in my free time, so I update rather infrequently.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

