Been a long time

Sorry I’ve been so quiet lately. Been busy with real life and work. I know, they’re such common excuses. Anyway, this is just a quick update to give a couple people credit for being extremely tolerant and promoting peace.

RfrancisR is a regular contributor to dailykos.com who identifies himself as a Christian, but often speaks out in favor of marriage equality. His most recent article condemns a grassroots movement to create a national Registry of Atheists, so that Christians can choose to boycott atheist businesses and try to convert them to Christianity. The movement goes on to compare atheists to sex offenders and ex-convicts, suspected terrorists, and members of hate groups. Kudos to you, RfrancisR, for speaking out against intolerance!

Gideon works for a public defender in Connecticut, but is very cryptic about any personal details beyond that. FYI about government employees: they have to be especially careful about the trail they leave on the internet. I know quite a few people here in Tennessee who work for the state, and some of them go to extreme lengths to avoid being identified online, for fear of losing their job. Anyway, this article defends peoples’ rights to carry guns, despite the author’s own misgivings about the need for guns. Thank you, Mr. or Mrs. Gideon!

If more people followed Evelyn Beatrice Hall’s lead [“I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it.”, often mis-attributed to Voltaire], I think we would all be a lot better off!

About Arthur Dishman

I am an amateur philosopher and fiction writer who is very concerned about some of the things happening in the world around me. I have been posting a lot of political rants to my facebook, so I've decided to sequester my ramblings to its own spot. Also, I'm not exactly lacking for hobbies or things to do in my free time, so I update rather infrequently.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

