Gun Control…Really?

That does it – this blog is officially revived, and it only took twenty dead kindergarteners. That’s right, the topic of this article is Newton, Connecticut, or more specifically the politization of it. The victims’ bodies weren’t even cold before people started screaming about gun control. While I have a strong opinion on the gun debate, I have no intention of sharing it in this article because politics do not belong in the same conversation as a masacre. Besides, knee-jerk reactions to tragedy is how we end up with legislative gems like the PATRIOT Act.

I am far more interested in finding out what happens to the families in the community now. When something traumatic occurs, it is difficult to cope and return to normal life. Many people never do return to normal, or they have to redefine what normal is. But that’s for individuals. Twenty eight lives were violently ended on Friday, and the odds are good in a small town that small, everyone who lives in Newton knew at least one of the victims. Those people probably were known in the next town over as well.

So it is the scale of this event that worries me the most. By my count, tens of thousands of people have been traumatized by a single man’s actions, and the first impulse of [some] on-lookers is to start a fresh round political football ala gun control? Unacceptable. Those ‘people’ (I hesitate to use the word) fail as human beings. A human being’s first reaction is/was “what can I do to help the survivors and the community?”

About Arthur Dishman

I am an amateur philosopher and fiction writer who is very concerned about some of the things happening in the world around me. I have been posting a lot of political rants to my facebook, so I've decided to sequester my ramblings to its own spot. Also, I'm not exactly lacking for hobbies or things to do in my free time, so I update rather infrequently.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

